The Arrow

There are no answers; only choices.

Most Intense Push-Ups

Posted by thearrow on March 28, 2008

Someone came across my blog by searching for this term. Great minds :). I was just planning on writing about that.

To take push-ups one notch up, do them with one leg up in the air.

For a greater challenge, put your feet up on a solid base about one-foot high (30 cm.). This will put even more weight on your upper body than a regular push-up and will work deeper muscles in your chest.

Another option is to put one of your arms up on a solid base about 6-in. high (15 cm.) and do sets of push-ups alternating the right and left arm up.

The hardest push-up for me is to put one arm on a medicine ball, which adds keeping your balance to an already-challenging exercise. Whenever you need to keep your balance, you’ll work way more muscles than you normally do.

Enjoy 🙂

10 Responses to “Most Intense Push-Ups”

  1. v said

    oh, i’ll definitely enjoy this! just mail me the cd and i’ll enjoy watching it on my tv.

  2. thearrow said

    😀

  3. tomás said

    Try and do them with your hands near the waist…Or do diamond push ups..those are also better than the regular ones

  4. thearrow said

    Oh, push-ups with your hands near the waist are the hardest. I do a version of those on a step with five risers. As for diamond push-ups, I can’t even begin to imagine how hard they are :). Thanks for the tips, though; I’ll try them for sure.

  5. Chaels said

    the “diamond” push ups work your triceps. hands shoulder width apart work more your overall arms and chest and hands at 1 and a half shoulder width distance work your chest more.. using push up bars or doing press ups where your hands are higher than your feet works your lower chest and doing press ups where your feet are abover your hands works more your upper chest.. or so i think the last 2 might be the other way round. to also increase intensity count for longer as you go down and as you go up. e.g. 1 2 3 4 down (nose touches floor) 1 2 3 4 (arms nearly completed extended but elbows not locked)

    hope that helps

  6. thearrow said

    Thanks a lot, Chaels! Very good tips. I’m still not sure I’m ready for diamond push ups; they sure seem hard :). But I’d definitely like to try them some day.

  7. Chaels said

    bleh seplt my name wrong charles* thanks for the compliments and wish you the very best on your way to a better body 🙂 XD

  8. thearrow said

    All I need to do is to continue to take the classes I’m going to; the trainer will take care of the rest :).

  9. Monserrate said

    Link exchange is nothing else except it is just placing the other person’s weblog link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do same for you.

  10. children's said

    Great site. Plenty of helpful info here. I’m sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thank you for your effort!

Leave a comment