The Arrow

There are no answers; only choices.

Archive for October 26th, 2008

Marathon Fun

Posted by thearrow on October 26, 2008

I admire the determination and grit that goes into preparing yourself for a marathon. As I’ve said before, the only reason why I’d run is to save my life. That said, George, the friend we were cheering for today, was running his seventh marathon. His time was 3:33. We were lucky to see him 4 times but we missed him one mile before the finish line. Why? Because he got there before us 🙂

The weather was gorgeous and the atmosphere was really great, with bands playing music at various points on the course and people cheering for the runners. The thing that totally blew my mind was that some of them were looking totally cool less than one mile before the end; as if they’d just gone out for a short morning run, almost fresh. They were just cruising along, almost effortlessly. While I’m not a runner, I think I’m fairly fit but when I get out of my 50 minutes of spinning you can almost mop the floor with me. I’m starting to suspect that these folks are actually aliens.

I’ll try to create a photo album, but my computer is finicky these days and I’m not sure when I’ll get it done. So, without further ado, here is George, the smiling man of the day, at mile 21:

Posted in fun | Tagged: | Leave a Comment »