The Arrow

There are no answers; only choices.

The Sign of a Good Day

Posted by thearrow on January 14, 2011

A lot of Romanians are superstitious and believe some really wacky things, such as if you sit in a draft you get a cold. Or, like me, if I wear a V-neck sweater or a shirt and don’t have a very warm scarf around my neck, I’ll get a cold because my throat is very sensitive. LOL. I do believe that, to the dismay of an old friend of mine familiar with our culture, who never hesitates to poke fun at me for this, which I thoroughly enjoy.

So I’ve decided to write more about our superstitions. Not to debunk them, but because they remind me of home and this gives me comfort. They are one of those things that create a community; everybody knows and mentions them. When you live in a different culture you realize how much these small things matter. I think I’m homesick.

This morning, a neighbor got in the elevator together with me. He was holding his briefcase and a paper shopping bag that had some weird grease stains on it. As we were descending, he smacked his forehead: “The garbage!” He forgot to toss the bag down the chute and was carrying it with him; pretty funny. Well, in Romania we consider it a good sign when someone with a full bag or some other container crosses your path. Even if it’s garbage. As long as it’s not an empty bag. And if that happens in the morning, even better.

A good sign for the whole day 🙂

2 Responses to “The Sign of a Good Day”

  1. Teo said

    lol, never heard that one before.

  2. thearrow said

    E, sigur ai auzit ca e bine cind iti iese cineva cu plinul in drum, chiar daca e gunoi 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
