The Arrow

There are no answers; only choices.

Good-Bye Facebook

Posted by thearrow on October 28, 2010

And good riddance!

As of today, I’m no longer on Facebook and I wonder what took me so long to do this after I made the mistake to join it (which took me a year after a friend invited me). I’m grateful a few people with whom I had lost touch have found me and now we’re friends. But besides them there are a ton of others that I really don’t want to be in touch with and I had to say yes to connecting with them. I can’t tell you how much I hate that.

After I got married, a (not-too-close) friend pointed out that I had not changed my status on Facebook. I don’t need that kind of sh**. I don’t want to update anything and I don’t need people from my past, with whom I don’t have anything in common, if I ever had, to comment on my life. Not necessarily this particular friend, but people I haven’t talked to in 10 years or more. There’s always email and phone calls if I want to keep in touch.

But I only have myself to blame for disregarding the fact that I’m someone who likes very close friendships and not weak links (see Gladwell’s The Tipping Point).

In one word, WHEW!

2 Responses to “Good-Bye Facebook”

  1. Ana said

    ouch!

    (I think my account serves its purpose tho, friends from afar and family can keep up with the new adventures of L&L -my youngest kids)

  2. thearrow said

    Yes, I’m very anti-Facebook. It’s a nifty tool if you want to keep everyone up-to-date with what’s going on in your life. But that’s my problem: I have different relationships with each of my friends. It probably has something to do with my upstairs 🙂 There are people who are very nice but with whom I don’t have a lot of affinities and who occasionally make comments that drive me nuts. I don’t want to cut them off, but I don’t want those annoying comments, either. I have a small, black heart (ha ha!). And then there are those with whom I REALLY don’t want to be in touch at all, but you can’t say no when they friend you. So for me it became this amalgamation of people that wasn’t meaningful.

    I’m definitely not passing judgment on those who use FB for family and a wide range of friends. On some level I wish I could do it, too. But it just doesn’t work for me, for some reason. I was just pissed at myself for not knowing any better. [end of rant]

Leave a Reply

 
