The Arrow

There are no answers; only choices.

It’s the End of the World

Posted by thearrow on February 10, 2010

We’re in the middle of the second huge snowstorm, a powerful blizzard, only three days after the previous one ended. This winter is close to breaking the snowfall record for the DC area. The federal government (and my office) have been closed since midday last Friday and it will be a miracle if we can get to work this Friday. Everything will be closed tomorrow, too. I have to say that, after more than three weeks of moving, at the end of my wits with exhaustion, I very much enjoyed waking up late and working in my pajamas when I felt like it.

This is how some shelves looked like at the grocery store last Thursday, before the first storm wave. I think I bought enough food to last me three weeks! Better safe than sorry.

6 Responses to “It’s the End of the World”

  1. Alt.L said

    no more vanilla kreme doh-nuhts?!!! man, this is bad!

  2. thearrow said

    Nope. The produce department had been emptied before we got there, the meat department had some chicken drumsticks left, the bakery department was empty, and, of course, the potato chips were gone 🙂

  3. Ana said

    The potato chips, but of course, a basic food item :)Hope you’re ok

    • thearrow said

      Yes, we’re doing fine, thank you. I had an irrepressible urge to buy empty carbs the other day (at a small neighborhood store that never closes), so I got icecream and chocolate croissants. Now we’re shoveling the car out of the snow for the second time and I’m hoping the metro will operate above-ground stops tomorrow, so that I can go to work. It’s been super to sleep in for a week but I’m getting cabin fever.

  4. Alt.L said

    looking at your pictures, I had a deja-vu… but of course! it looks like a regular “alimentara” in any regular day of mid-1980s, minus the drumsticks (pure luxury!), it goes without saying. oh, and what’s missing are the aisles full of Vietnamese shrimp chips (which no one would touch regardless the obvious lack of everything else) and maybe a bag or two of chicken feet (the claws, basically) under the sophisticated name “tacamuri”…

  5. thearrow said

    Indeed. That’s what I first thought of, too. I felt as if I was time-traveling. I got a kick out of seeing the empty shelves with the FREE label on them. Well, the nothing on them *must* be free, right?

Leave a Reply

 
