The Arrow

There are no answers; only choices.

I Fell Asleep on the Bus

Posted by thearrow on April 22, 2009

I woke up at my usual 2 something a.m. Tuesday night and somehow managed to go back to sleep until around 4 am. After that, forget it. I got up, made myself a nice big cuppa java, read the newspapers, chatted with friends from back home, and left for work at 7:00. On the bus I started feeling drowsy, so I thought I might as well just doze off, which I had done before. Boy, was I sleepy! I get to hear the announcement of the stop before the one I usually get off at (18 &K) and then I fall asleep 😀 I woke up when the bus was announcing it was stopping at the 15th street. Whoa! I work on 21st street, I’d better get off right now. In the process of waking up and rushing off the bus I forgot my gloves behind. Damn it! Nothing annoys me more than losing gloves and umbrellas.

I walk in the first Starbucks I see and get a double espresso, hoping that I’d wake up on the way to work. I did. Somewhat.

Then, in the evening, the last bus that takes me straight home whizzed by me two minutes earlier than it was supposed to, therefore I had to first take the metro and then another bus. By then, I was super cranky, tired, and hungry.

This morning I woke up later (as in 6 am), took my time to start the day, and wanted to take the last bus (the one that takes me straight to downtown DC and only runs during rush hours). Well, that one was early too! So I froze in the bus stop for 30 minutes until the next bus came. And this time I hadn’t taken gloves with me because I was afraid of losing them.

Sigh.

And zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

4 Responses to “I Fell Asleep on the Bus”

  1. Wandering Elf said

    Tu cand dormi?

    • thearrow said

      Good question :). I love going to bed early (9:30; sometimes even earlier) and waking up early. It doesn’t matter how early as long as I’ve had 8 hours of sleep. I can go to bed at 9:00 and wake up at 4:00 and feel great. But by 4 pm my brain starts sputtering :). These days I sleep from around 10 to that weird hour, 2:45, then if I have a really busy day ahead, I get too stressed out and only doze off until 4:00. To cut a long story short, I don’t get as much sleep as I need 😦 If there’s a pill that can make you care less about work, let me know, ok?

  2. Wandering Elf said

    yes, there is:))

Leave a Reply

 
