The Arrow

There are no answers; only choices.

Memorial Day

Posted by thearrow on July 4, 2008

I know it’s the 4th of July, but I’m behind with posting pics, so I figured I’d mention two holidays in one post.

Memorial Day is on the last Monday of May and is dedicated to those who died serving the United States. It was conceived to honor the Civil War heroes, but after World War I it started honoring Americans who died fighting in any war. You can learn more about it at http://www.usmemorialday.org. For a foreigner like me, though, the most spectacular side of Memorial Day are the members of Rolling Thunder, whose mission is to “protect future veterans from being left behind should they become prisoners of war-missing in action.” If you see MIA/POW, that’s what it means: missing in action/prisoner of war. Their distinctive feature is riding Harley Davidsons. I imagine they celebrate Memorial Day in other parts of the States, too, but many of them come to D.C. and ride their awesome bikes on Sunday, starting at the Pentagon and going around the Mall. This year I admired them in Alexandria with Alt.L. and Ctrl.Alt.L :). Here are some pics: http://picasaweb.google.com/simonne.c/MemorialDay200802.

Tonight I’m going to take pics of the fireworks on the Mall. If I’m lucky — as in it doesn’t rain and I capture some decent pics with my non-SLR camera — I’ll post the pics tomorrow. If I’m not lucky, I’ll post those I took two years ago :).

4 Responses to “Memorial Day”

  1. Bones said

    The proper terminology is POW-MIA.

    prisoners of war – missing in action

    reversing the letters is considered disrespectful to the last known alive POWs who were never released by the enemy.

  2. thearrow said

    I’m sorry about that; wasn’t aware of the nuance. I stand corrected.

  3. moy said

    astea DA motoare, mai m-am imbolnavit putin!

  4. thearrow said

    Haha! Da, iti zic: lesini. Imi plac unele care arata ca niste insecte, cu coarne foarte inalte si nu asa de mari in rest, dar n-am reusit sa le prind in poza pina acum. E misto sa vezi asa multe la un loc si sa le auzi pe strada, una dupa alta; stii, zgomotul ala specific, rumbling. I love Memorial Day πŸ™‚ Tot weekendul in DC numai zgomotul asta se aude.

    Mie-mi plac si motociclistii/motociclistele. N-ai vazut ce fetze tough au? πŸ™‚ Eu (inca) sint timida cind vine vorba de fotografiat oameni, asa ca n-am prea multe de genul ala, dar mai am citeva cu motoare de-acum doi ani. Eventual sa le postez si pe alea.

Leave a Reply

 
