The Arrow

There are no answers; only choices.

Days and Nights

Posted by thearrow on April 12, 2008

I’ve been tagged by Zaza to write about this. I have to admit that I don’t like being tagged because it feels like I have even more work to do, but I happened to think about this particular topic anyway :).

My days are all about work and my nights start very early. Ideally I go to bed at 9:30, but if I’m very, very tired I can go to bed at 7 or 8, no problem. Sometimes I wake up at 4 a.m. by myself, even if I might not have had enough sleep (and I absolutely hate to be sleep-deprived). My brain detects that I’ve slept a half-decent stretch of hours and turns all the lights on. Bang! Resistance is futile. No matter what I try to go back to sleep, I can’t. I could if I knew I can wake up whenever; unfortunately that’s not the case.

But sometimes I function very well on less sleep. That’s what happened this past week. I had a 10-hour day on Thursday and was stressed out because I had to finish two things on Friday. And I know there’s no way to concentrate on reading and writing when I’m at the office because there are too many interruptions. Something new comes up all the time; it’s a constant juggling exercise. So I worked on one thing Thursday night at home, hit the hay at 9:30, woke up at 4:00 (bang!) and finished before leaving for work at 7:30. It felt great. Now, of course, I have to work on the second thing this weekend…

I have to say I miss my 20’s. Don’t roll your eyes when I say it’s because of how dedicated to work I was :). It’s true. Sure, I had fun, but the thing I really wish I had now is my gusto for work.

Oh, I forgot to say that mornings are all about coffee, without which none of this would be possible.

Leave a Reply

 
